How to Create Opportunities

AHHHHHHHH!! 

Sometimes we look at others and think “man, I wish I had their job,” or “I wish I had that person as my girlfriend or boyfriend.”  But then we think, “there is no way I could do that or date that person because I’m not good enough.  It’s tough… or is it?

First of all, we need to give ourselves a break and not beat ourselves up so much.  With some intentionality and faith, you can accomplish a lot more than you think!  Take my fellow Eastern Iowan Cheyanne Boddicker for instance.  She just finished a swim across the English Channel to raise money!  Click the link to check it out!

But before we go out and conquer the world, there has to be some thought as to how you are going to create opportunities for yourself.  There is no trick here, but I’ll guarantee that if you sit at home watching TV all night, every night, that not a lot of opportunities are going to come your way (These are usually the people who look at successful people and say “they are so lucky”).

So how and where do we create opportunities for ourselves?  I tend to think that I am going to meet people, network, and create opportunities for myself where I hang out the most.  If you spend 40 hours per week in an office cube, your probably going to make a lot of connections at work.  If you spend a lot of time at the gym, you’ll probably meet some people there.

In other words, we need to be doing things to create opportunities!  Say yes to a few more things, especially those things that might get you a little out of your comfort zone.  What is the worst that can happen?  Who knows, you might find some new things that you will really enjoy!

Here are 10 things that just popped into my head:

1.  Attend a cooking class.

2.  Organize a group bike ride.

3.  Volunteer for a pet shelter.

4.  Start a blog about something that interests you!

5.  Take a weekend trip to a new place.

6.  Read an inspirational book.

7.  Learn a new language.

8.  Write voraciously.

9.  Ask to speak at a local conference of interest to you.

10.  Learn to build birdhouses.

Okay, that took me all of 2 minutes to come up with those.  There are a million things you could do.  What should stick is that in all of these examples (maybe minus the reading or writing, which I could argue) you are forcing yourself to be active, go places, and that’s how opportunities are created.   

In Cheyanne Boddicker’s example above, I know that what she accomplished has probably created an endless amount of opportunities for her!  She took some action, did something of interest to her, created a story, which in turn will create opportunities! 

Go create some opportunities.  My friend gave me a quote last week – You miss 100% of the chances you don’t take.  Do we really have that much to lose?

Dan – 9/1/11

About danholterhaus

I explore creative strategies to help others achieve success
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Success. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

