The Power of Un-Plugging – A Follow Up to Exploration and Adventure in PlayaCar, MX

After a rough start to my initial travel to Playa Del Carmen, MX (see last post) I settled in and had a great week.  I missed a scheduled blog post, but I’m okay with this.  My plan for this trip was true vacation.  I was disconnected for the better part of 6 days.  I didn’t turn on my cell phone once, and I only got on the internet twice for very brief instances.  We all need that sometimes don’t we?!  I’ll answer that for you, YES.

Vacation was good to get out of the office, but I didn’t do absolutely nothing all week.  I worked on some Effective Life Experiences, and had fun with family.  17 other family members and myself were on this trip.  It was a good time for all of us to meet up somewhere outside of Iowa (where we all live). 

I will say that the Yucatan Peninsula is not the most comfortable climate in late July.  With tempuratures in the mid 90’s each day and not much wind, it was definitely steamy and there were a lot of insects along for the journey.

I had a question right after we landed in Cancun, MX.  Where the hell am I?  I hadn’t looked at a map before we went, so I was unsure.  We landed in the middle of a tropical rainforest… and I loved it.  A runway in the middle of a rainforest is perfecto in my book, seriously!  After looking a little further into where I was, this is what I found.

On the northeast coast of the Yucatan Peninsula is Cancun.  We flew into Cancun (3 hours 30 minutes flight from Chicago), then had a taxi ride south to Playa Del Carmen.  This was a 1 hour ride. 

South of Playa Del Carmen, you’ll notice a city called Tulum.  You might remember this city from your 4th grade history book.  This is where I did some exploring and what others would call sight-seeing.

I won’t go into a whole lot of detail, but Tulum is an ancient Mayan city which was inhabited from 1200 to around 1600 AD.  Tulum means “Stinky Place,” but it didn’t hold true to its name.  In 1519, Spanish Conquistadores attacked the city by sea and took it over.  I got a picture at the beach where the attack happened, a beautiful setting, I don’t know how else to describe it.

It’s fun to think about the history, or the legacy that was left here.  492 years ago this beach was attacked! Okay, not much action today, but understand my need and excitement of exploration.

Here are more pictures of Tulum.  It was tough to be photogenic with the temperature reaching 115 degrees inside the ruin walls!

Ruin Walls

Overlooking the Caribbean

Stairs to ruin overlooking Caribbean

So why am I sharing this with you?  My purpose is to help you explore creative strategies for success in your future.  Well, I also look for other things that I can start to explore in my life for success, or just for fun.  I’ve determined two new things that I want to learn from this trip.  #1, I want to learn each Country and it’s Capital City on Earth by the end of 2011.  Pretty easy right?  #2, I want to be fairly fluent in Spanish by the end of 2012.  Right now mi Espanol is muy mal (very bad).  This might mean another trip or more to Latin America to help!  Using the 80/20 rule, I should be able to accomplish this early.  But in the mean time, I’ll be looking to connect with some Spanish speaking locals in Cedar Rapids, IA.  Anyone out there??

What are you wanting to accomplish the rest of this year or in the near future?

This trip was vacation for my family that I went with.  Usually I am much against vacations unless they include some productivity!  At some point, we get tired of sitting on the beach and want to do something productive.  I tried to stay as productive as possible writing in my journal and reading.  Here is a journal entry from last Wednesday 7/27:

Cozumel is in the distance at 9AM on a cloud soaked morning in Playa Del Carmen.  I’m on the beach looking out at where the dark blue sky hits the clear blue water of the Caribbean.  A couple of jet skis pass and high powered boats heading out too sea.  Isn’t there more to life?  If I sat on the beach everyday, would life be complete?  Vacation with no activity can only be fun for so long until we reach boredom.  On some level, we all want to be helping others and making progress in our lives.

Progress + Activity = Fulfillment

Understand, my purpose is to help you live and create the lifestyle that you want to live!  I had some conversations with family members about mini retirements, company benefits, doing what they want in their lives.  Their response was funny to me… “Oh that makes sense, but…” But what.  Henry David Thoreau said that most people die with their greatest achievement still in them.  My focus is to NOT be those people!

Alrighty, let’s take a look at some other fun photos from the Yucatan.

Entrance to the beach where I stayed in PlayaCar

 
 

Sunrise at 6:15AM over the Caribbean

 

An iguana catching some sun at Tulum

 

Signing off - Dan - 7/31/11

 
  
 
About danholterhaus

I explore creative strategies to help others achieve success
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Lifestyle, Mini Retirement, Success. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

