Effective Marketing – The Art of Humanity

A great idea for a business is roughly 10% of the process to launching a successful business.  A much larger part is how we market ourselves.  A so-so idea with great marketing efforts has a much better chance of succeeding than a great idea with poor marketing.  The marketing includes the message we convey, how we reach out to potential customers, and the humanity we bring with our business. 

Experimenting with Humanity

Lately I’ve been sending emails to some pretty successful bloggers, business people and asking them all the same question.  “What is the one piece of advice you would give to someone about launching a business and becoming successful?”

I did this for a couple reasons.  First, I wanted to hear what they would say.  But more importantly, I wanted to see how they would respond to an email from someone.  You see, for the most part I knew the answer that I was going to receive from everyone.  Take action, start doing what you want to do.  By starting you will start to see yourself becoming more successful.

One person I emailed is a young, successful, marketing and business coach who lives in New York City.  She works with one of the top marketers in the country and interviews successful business owners all over the country.  Here is a copy of our email thread, starting with what I initially sent to her.  She is referred to as XXXXXXXX.

Hey XXXXXXXX,
 
I just came across your projects.  You’re working on some really cool stuff, which I love!  I’m working on a project of my own and wanted your thought on something. 
 
What is one piece of advice you would give to someone about launching or overcoming fear?
 
Thanks for your time and inspiration!
 
Dan  

Her Response: 

Take action. The more action you take, the more progress you make, the more confidence you gain.

Make more decisions in the face of uncertainty and you’ll live a productive and lucky life.

Sent from my iPhone

While I was excited to have her respond to my question, it left me wondering…. if she is truly a marketer and coach, why isn’t she connecting or building any type of relationship?  Her advice was spot on, I’ll give her that.  But what is she missing?  HUMANITY!

I’m sure this person is very busy, but how much more effort would it have taken to do something like the following:

Hey Dan,

Thanks for your message.  The thing I would tell you would be to Take action. The more action you take, the more progress you make, the more confidence you gain.

Make more decisions in the face of uncertainty and you’ll live a productive and lucky life.

What type of project are you working on?

Take care,

XXXXXXXX

See the difference here?  As a business person who is wanting to build a solid reputation and client base, you want to add HUMANITY to what you do.  Her response she gave me was generic.  It said to me – I don’t have enough time here, please leave me alone.  That is not how we want to portray ourselves in business.

Retail HUMANITY

This past weekend I went shopping for a new bed.  I visited 3 places who all carry very good furniture and beds.  At all 3 places I was approached by someone who was going to help me find a bed.  But at only one place did someone actually explain the benefits of each bed, and introduce themselves.  I am not someone to make a decent size purchase on the spot, so I thought about my options for a couple days.  On Monday, following the weekend, I made a decision.  I went to the store with the salesperson who provided the most HUMANITY.  It wasn’t the cheapest option I had seen, but the service and quality of how I was treated made a difference.  I felt comfortable there, and when I went back, the same person who had helped me a couple days prior came to help me again. 

The place offering the most HUMANITY got my business.

Take some time and think about how you are treating the people you come in contact with.  It does make a difference.  People don’t want to be cut short, especially when they are interested in what you have to offer.  Under-promise and Over-deliver on a person or client’s expectations.  It will make them feel special.

Dan – 7/13/11

About danholterhaus

I explore creative strategies to help others achieve success
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

