Somewhere in the middle…

I’ve been thinking a lot lately, which is pretty normal for me.  I tend to spend a lot of time reflecting, dreaming, and thinking.  It’s what I naturally do.  Lately my thoughts have been about the launch that we will all go through if we want better than mediocre lives.  My last blog post where I highlighted my friend Clint’s launch, got me thinking even more.

The launch is that thing we must do to break away and realize more success in our lives.  It’s not pinned down to a certain thing and we will have many launches throughout our lives as we continue to become more successful.  It can take place in areas of your life such as finances, health, career, spirit, personal development, and relationships.  

As I’ve been thinking so much lately, I came up with a diagram that I want to share with you about the launch.  It goes like this:

Somewhere in the middle of Can, Will, and Do, is DID.  This is known as a Venn diagram to show overlapping concepts.

Can – Having the ability to do something. 

Will – Giving the effort to accomplish a task.

Do – The process of accomplishing the task.

DIDThe Launch. 

My point here is that it is easy to just think about things.  In my own case, I think a lot and it comes naturally to me.  I’m analytical and a dreamer.  So in my state of thinking about things, I realize that at some point (The intersection of Can, Will, and Do) I will have launched completely.

Make sense?  If one of our circles (Can, Will, and Do) isn’t finished, we can’t say we DID it.  We need to have the ability, we need to give the effort, and accomplish what we want. 

This Week

It’s Sunday, June 26th.  I’m going to set myself a weekly task list for this week that clearly lays out how I will be spending each of my days this week.  Things I want to accomplish.  Lately I’ve been noticing that things have not been getting done like I want them to.  By clearly defining what each day will look like, I will be able to accomplish what I want to easier.  The act of DID, and launch.

Have you been noticing that things you want to get done are not getting done?  Try the exercise I am doing this week.  Give yourself a task list to things to do each day.  Don’t overwhelm yourself, because then it becomes easy to shut down.  Clearly identify what you will be doing each day to accomplish what needs to get done.  At the end of the week, hopefully we can say that we DID something this week.

Dan – 6/26/11

About danholterhaus

I explore creative strategies to help others achieve success
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Success. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

