Dream Big

Make no small plans, they have no place in a man’s heart.

Everything I do, I do it BIG   –   Wiz Khalifa

A dream is a succession of images, thoughts, sounds, or emotions which pass through the mind during sleep.

What a great definition.  I have a hard time remembering what I dream about during sleep, so I want to talk about those dreams that you have while you are awake. 

The greatest thing about dreams is that there is no limit to what you can think about.  Anything that crosses your mind as an “I Wish” statement qualifies as a dream.  This could be with anything in your life.  Statements like, “I wish I could live somewhere warmer.”  “I wish I had 100K in the bank.”  “I wish I owned my own business.”  These all qualify as dreams.

Dreams begin the process of getting yourself in motion to acheive something that you want.  I wonder why we don’t follow through on our dreams more often.  It seems like there are a lot of people that wish they were younger again and wish they had the opportunities to go out and do something big.  These people let their dreams pass them by when they were younger, and are now regretful.

Don’t be one of these people.  If your dream is to help people mow lawns and keep their yard beautiful, DO IT, and do it with EXCELLENCE.  If your dream is to buy a house, start saving some money and planning the steps you need to take to make that happen.

Thoughts from Jimmy V

The late basketball coach Jim Valvano was one of the greatest thinkers of all time.  It is said that he only slept one or two hours a day because he was constantly thinking or working on something.  He gave a speech at the 1993 ESPY awards that could inspire anyone.  Jim Valvano died from cancer 4 weeks after giving this speech.  People wondered how he had the energy and enthusiasm to give such a great speech.  Watch it here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HuoVM9nm42E

The main theme of his speech is “don’t give up, don’t ever give up.”  That’s what we need to do with our dreams.  Never give up on them. 

Concluding Thoughts 

Dream big, small dreams never get put into action because they don’t mean enough. 

Don’t limit your dreams to when you are sleeping.  Spend some time each day in thought and let your mind wander.

Don’t regret what you didn’t do.

Dan – 3/12/11 – Naples, FL

About danholterhaus

I explore creative strategies to help others achieve success
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

