Change is Good

I walked into the barber shop today, and I knew I needed a change.  Do you ever get that feeling?  You just know that something needs to change?  I do.  I sat down in the chair, got propped up, and had the hair bib placed over me.  The barber asked “Alright, what are we doing today.”  I said, “change.”  She responded “change is good.”

Why are we as humans so afraid of change?  I think it comes down to 3 things.  Fear of the unknown, fear of failure, and fear of success.  I fight all of these at times, its natural.  But why?  The easiest way to conquer fear is to ask yourself,  “What is the worst thing that could happen?”  When you are clear on the worst thing that could possibly happen, fear disappears.  You’ll find that usually the worst thing that could happen is just an imagination or something that has less than a 10% chance of happening.  And even if the worst happens, it will probably not affect you long term in any way.

I’ll break this down a little further. #1. Fear of the unknown – This fear really has no application.  The future is unknown, and we have no idea what life will bring us tomorrow.  Being fearful of something that is unknown to you is BS.

#2. Fear of failure – This is a tough one for me, because I expect a lot out of myself.  So what if you fail?  Is anyone watching or judging you?  Maybe God.  Even if someone sees you fail at something, shouldn’t they be there supporting you and giving encouragement?  Absolutely.  We learn from failure, so if you become afraid of it, you are in essence not learning anymore.

#3. Fear of success – I see this one a lot.  We are afraid to try something because what if something great happens?  That means more responsibility and more to live up to, and we’re just comfortable where we are at right now.  People look up to those who are successful, don’t take a backseat in your life, become the driver!

Don’t live life in fear.  Be ready for change and welcome change.  Think about where you see yourself 5, 10 or 20 years from now… if everything is the same, will you be happy?  Probably not.  Prepare for change and start living without fear.

Dan   2/25/11

About danholterhaus

I explore creative strategies to help others achieve success
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

